Expected speed of decryption?

Mar 23, 2012 at 3:57 PM

I have a question about the speed of decrypting.  I'm seeing "NmDecrypt" decrypt about 20 TLS/SSL packets per minute.  Given that I have a trace of about 4700 encrypted packets, the decryption takes about four hours.  This trace represents about 100 seconds of wall-clock time and the two machines on either end of the TCP connection are  keeping up with encryption/decryption, so the four hours seems very slow to me.  Is there something I could do to speed up the decryption?  (I'm a beginner with this software, so I could be missing something obvious.)

I'm using:

• Network Monitor 3.4.2350 (dated 24 June 2010)
  • the open-source parser package, version 3.4.2774.0001 (dated 19 Dec 2011)
  • NmDecrypt 2.3.3 (dated 26 October 2011)

to decrypt TLS/SSL traffic.

My hardware and system software is:

• AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4000+ at 2.10 GHz
  • 3.0 GB RAM
  • 64-bit Windows 7 Home Premium with Service Pack 1

Thanks in advance for any insight that you might have,

-- Steve Ross

Mar 23, 2012 at 4:38 PM

Decrypting can be a slow process, but that seems exceeding slow.  In my experience it's never taken more than 5 minutes to decrypt anything I've tried.  The most recent case I did was for a 800 frame trace.  So perhaps something is wrong.

Any chance you could share the trace and cert with me on SkyDrive or some other file sharing service?  I think you might also be ableto attach to an Issue, but that would be a very public option.

Paul

Mar 23, 2012 at 5:32 PM

Paul,

Thanks for your quick reply. 

Regarding providing a trace plus the certificate, I've asked around and that may be a bit difficult.  Is there any thing you could suggest that I could try locally first?

-- Steve Ross

Mar 26, 2012 at 2:48 PM